Skip to Content

ThredUP Reviews: Is the Online Consignment Store Worth It?

If you make a purchase using links in this article, I could receive a commission. Please see my Privacy Policy for information.

Getting rid of clothes and want to try to make some money from selling your clothing online with ThredUp? Consignment stores are the best way to easily get money for your old clothing. What if you don’t have a consignment store near you, though – or the time to go to a thrift store? ThredUP is an online consignment store offering to buy your clothing and sell gently used clothing online.

womens clothes in shades of white and grey hanging on copper hangers on curtain rod

But is thredUP worth it?

After I saw the online resale shop promoted on nearly every blogger’s site that I knew, I was intrigued. Why were so many people suddenly writing about thredUP clothes and how wonderful the online consignment store was?

So I decided to do a thredUP review that wasn’t sponsored.

I had a lot of really nice clothes that I no longer fit into anymore and I wanted to make some money off of them. So I decided to try to sell clothes to ThredUp. Here’s what happened.

This article has been updated most recently in April 2020. Over the years, there have been more than 200 comments of real-life ThredUp reviews from other people who sold clothes to thredUP and how much money they made. Be sure to scroll down and read their comments, too!

denim jackets hanging on clothing rack

ThredUP Consignment

I tried selling some of my Express clothing on a private Facebook group for my HOA community. A few things did sell for about $30-40 profit. I sold Forever 21 dresses for $5 each, and my Express clothing for $10 each.

There was still a huge pile of clothing left, though, including Express pants, shorts, tops and more. And it was all in really good shape. Some stuff was barely worn. I am pretty gentle with my clothing. In fact, there are still things from high school in my closet that I can wear. That’s how little wear and tear my clothes get. Especially my dress clothes (I work from home after all. My dress pants might get worn 10 times a year.)

I wanted to make some money from selling my clothes. That’s when I heard about ThredUp.

What is ThredUp?

Before I start telling you about my experience selling clothes to ThredUp, you might be wondering what ThredUp is.

ThredUp is an online thrift store. Or you might call it an online consignment store. Either way, it’s a website that buys used clothing from you and sell clothes to buyers online. You can just sell to the website, or you can just buy from the ThredUp thrift store. You don’t have to do both.

You can buy discounted clothing via their website, www.ThredUp.com, or via the ThredUp app.

It is a sustainable way to buy clothes, since you are purchasing previously worn clothing.

Online consignment store thredUP buys your clothes for cash. But is it worth it? Here's how much I REALLY made from selling my clothes online.

Selling Clothes on thredUP

So, I ordered a free Clean Out bag to sell my clothes to ThredUp. (In April 2020, the Clean Out bags or mailing label for your own box are free. However, the secondhand resale shop once charged for these bags. So be sure to look on their site to see their current policy, which changes frequently, in case there is a ThredUp clean out kit cost.)

Thredup Clean Out Bag Fee Structure

I filled the Clean Out bag with what I couldn’t sell on my own and hoped for some money for selling my clothes. I knew that ThredUp is very picky when it comes to accepting clothing, but they don’t send your clothing back that they won’t sell unless you pay them a fee. For instance, I had some clothes from Synergy Organic Clothing, too, but I knew (based on thredUP’s guidelines) that there was likely no way they’d take them. I decided to keep those items to donate to charity instead.

ThredUP will take women’s clothing; children’s clothing – both boys and girls; handbags; shoes; plus size clothing and maternity clothes.

How Does ThredUp Work?

Once you decide to sell your clothes to the online thrift store, you will request a ThredUp Clean Out Bag. This is a large bag that they send you that you will stuff with all of your clothes that you want to try to get money for. Alternatively, you can use your own box and request a free mailing label to send them your clothes. Up to 15 lbs. can be in each package.

Not all of your clothes that you send to ThredUp will be bought. In fact, ThredUp clearly states that with their Quality Standards they only accept an average of 40% of clothing sent to them. So your odds of actually making money on a piece of clothing is 4 in 10. While you might *think* that your clothing will definitely be accepted because it’s in mint condition, don’t be so sure. (You’re definitely going to want to read all of ThredUp reviews in the comments section for real-life stories about this!)

Will you get back the clothes that ThredUp doesn’t accept? No, not unless you pay for the option, which is $10.99 (April 2020 pricing). Otherwise, the great quality clothing that they say they won’t take will be given to other sellers to sell, or used in their ThredUp Rescue Boxes. Poor quality clothing will be given to textile recycling partners to recoup money.

thredup payout estimator

Clothing that is accepted for sale will be on consignment for up to 60 days (for what they call Value or Mall brands) or 90 days (for Premium and Designer brands).

You get paid if your clothing sells.

What if your clothing doesn’t sell? What does Thredup do with the clothes?

You can choose to reclaim your clothing. Otherwise the clothing becomes the property of ThredUp.

ThredUp Estimator

When I sold my clothes to ThredUp, there was no examples of the payout. Now, there is now a Payout Estimator on the thredUP website. It gives general examples of what you could expect to receive from selling your clothing.

I think you’ll be shocked if you put in some of your clothing brands into they calculator and see how much is being offered. In a search during April 2020, here’s what the ThredUp Payout Estimator was saying:

  • JC Penney Khaki Shorts: $0.48
  • Old Navy Jeans: $0.90-$1.47
  • Express cardigan sweater: $1.08-$1.26
  • LC Lauren Conrad Casual Dress: $1.92-$2.43
  • Athleta Active Pants: $7.09-$7.87
  • Calvin Klein Cocktail Dress: $11.88-$15.00

I can’t fathom getting paid $1 or $2 for a piece of clothing rather than donating it in my community to an underprivileged women trying to reenter the workplace.

white black and pink women's clothing hangin on wooden hangers in closet

 ThredUp Processing Time for Clean Out Bags

After I sent in my big bag of a clean out kit, I waited. And waited. And waited.

Yeah, it took about 30 days. I sent my bag in on August 6. My credit wasn’t processed until September 10.

Over the years, nothing has changed. In fact, it might take even longer for ThredUp to process your donation.

As of April 2020, ThredUp processing times are up to 7 weeks. That’s almost 2 months before you even know if you can make any money! Of course, if you want to pay the company some money, they’ll let you know sooner. If you want to pay $16, then your clean out kit will be processed in one week.

Does ThredUp Sell Shoes?

Yes, they do!

ThredUp takes shoes, including women’s and kids. For children’s shoes, they take both boys and girls.

I’ve personally found quite a few good pairs on never worn Vionic shoes on the site. Just like everything, their shoes used to be a better value. Now a lot of the shoes I like are about the same price as I could get on the company’s website with a good sale.

Does ThredUp Take Men’s Clothes?

After seeing how awesome the clothes and shoes are that come in the mail from ThredUp, my husband often asks if he can buy clothes on the consignment store.

Unfortunately, no he can’t.

ThredUp does not take mens clothes or shoes, so they won’t pay for men’s clothing and they do not sell men’s clothes. I don’t know why they don’t sell men’s clothes. Maybe men just don’t shop as much online? I think it’s a wasted opportunity for donating clothes.

ThredUp Payout Options

If your clothes do sell, you can get your payout in three different ways (after a 14 day window has passed):

  • PayPal credit (with a 2% processing fee deducted)
  • Cash back via Stripe
  • Shopping credit at partner brands, such as Athleta

Related Posts:

ThredUP Reviews for Selling Clothes

After I sent in my bag and waited for a while, I was shocked at the payout they said I would get. My massive polka dot bag of high quality, name brand clothing only scored a grand total of $7.40 of thredUP credit (back then, they used to give you credit in the store as an option). That’s all.

WHAT?!?!?

Yeah, I was pretty upset.

That’s less than $2 per item.

Here’s what was accepted – only 4 items.

Online consignment store thredUP buys your clothes for cash. But is it worth it? Here's how much I REALLY made from selling my clothes online.

For less than $8, I would have rather donated all of my things to a local thrift store who could have made three times that money for worthy programs for the needy.

The amount was truly an insult.

Especially when the pants were now selling for $18.99 (that’s just ONE of the items):

Online consignment store thredUP buys your clothes for cash. But is it worth it? Here's how much I REALLY made from selling my clothes online.

Wondering what clothes I sold to ThredUp? Here’s the clothes that I sent in a Clean Out bag. They all had no rips. No sweat stains. No pilling on most items. Hardly any wear or tear on most. All were Express except for the lemon dress:

Online consignment store thredUP buys your clothes for cash. But is it worth it? Here's how much I REALLY made from selling my clothes online.

Online consignment store thredUP buys your clothes for cash. But is it worth it? Here's how much I REALLY made from selling my clothes online.

Online consignment store thredUP buys your clothes for cash. But is it worth it? Here's how much I REALLY made from selling my clothes online.

Online consignment store thredUP buys your clothes for cash. But is it worth it? Here's how much I REALLY made from selling my clothes online.

Online consignment store thredUP buys your clothes for cash. But is it worth it? Here's how much I REALLY made from selling my clothes online.

Online consignment store thredUP buys your clothes for cash. But is it worth it? Here's how much I REALLY made from selling my clothes online.

Online consignment store thredUP buys your clothes for cash. But is it worth it? Here's how much I REALLY made from selling my clothes online.

Is ThredUp Legit?

Once you receive a very low amount of money for great clothing that you sent in, or you find out that most of your clothes weren’t accepted, you will likely start asking yourself is ThredUp legit?

Many people have wondered that. Especially not knowing why clothing is rejected or where the clothing is being sent.

As the world’s largest fashion resale platform, ThredUp is partnering with many notable fashion brands in collaborations. In 2020, the online thrift store had partnerships with the Gap, Macy’s, Banana Republic, Athleta, J.C. Penny and J. Crew.

According to Forbes, the company received more than $300 million in funding.

From a business standpoint, yes ThredUp is a legitimate company that employs hundreds of people and receives investment funding.

Is Thredup Good?

Now, that’s a very personal question with a very personal answer. Whether you see it as good or not depends on how you use the online thrift store.

Will I ever use thredUP again to sell my clothes? No.

I would rather sell my clothing in local stores, through online groups that I know and love, or donate to worthy charities.Thre

Most ThredUp reviews that I read all end up with the same story of people expecting to make a decent amount of money by selling their clothes, but being shocked with how much they actually receive months down the road.

So it depends on your expectations and how you are using the thrift store.

If you just want to get clothes out of your house, it’s a great way to get rid of them without having to drive to a consignment store or donation center. Keep in mind, many donation centers will pick things up at your door, too, if you arrange for a pickup.

However, if you think that selling half of your wardrobe will help pay for a vacation or pay off debt, you might be sadly mistaken. If you are comparing ThredUp vs. Poshmark, you will likely find that Poshmark will give you more money. Here’s more websites where you can sell your clothes online.

Online consignment store thredUP buys your clothes for cash. But is it worth it? Here's how much I REALLY made from selling my clothes online.

You also better have ponied up for some high end brands to begin with. They are very label conscious and brand oriented. I personally don’t like that, because paying a high price for name brand clothing doesn’t mean anything.

I want great clothing, no matter what the brand tag says.

Is buying clothes on Thredup good? It depends.

There are a lot of really great prices to be had. It depends on if there is a sale, and how much the seller is pricing their clothing, shoes and accessories for. However, I have found that the really good deals of name brand clothing that used to be plentiful a couple years ago are now long gone. Much of the name brand clothing is priced higher than what I could buy it for with a sale or discount in another store or online website.

However, there are deals to be had, definitely. And I do buy some clothing in the thredup clothing store.

If you want to see what thredUP is like, I’d suggest buying clothes with the company before trying to sell them your clothes to see how it is.

Want to make money by selling other unused items? Here’s a great way to make money with your old electronics!

thredup reviewwhite black and pink women's clothing hangin on wooden hangers in closet

Have you ever used thredUP? What did you think???

 

Ditch the Toxins in Your Home!

Join our weekly newsletter for shopping guides, cleaning hacks and smart tips to improve wellness where you live. 

Thanks! Keep an eye on your inbox for updates.

brown chairs on white rug with white end table in sunny room
What is Off Gassing and Why It's Bad
← Read Last Post
paint brushes applying purple paint to white background
AFM Safecoat Review: Can Paint Seal in VOCs?
Read Next Post →

Jenna

Thursday 8th of April 2021

I did not expect much from Thredup. I used it as a way to get rid of clothes when my usual local donation places were closed due to the pandemic. I sent a donation box, and then decided, hey why not send a box to sell too. I made $27.82 for my first box; $17.25 so far on my second box; and I would use it again to get rid of a bag of wearable clothes. Here are my thoughts:

1) I would only send clothes to Thredup that I don’t want. If I couldn’t send it off and forgot about it, I wouldn’t send it. If making money was my goal, I would not send the it. If I had a special item and I would be upset if it were rejected or didn’t sell for what I thought it was worth, I wouldn’t send it.

2) It is my understanding that unless you pay to have them returned, the clothes that they reject or don’t sell within the window are theirs. I do hope they are not rejecting clothes and then selling those clothes, as this is a violation of trust. Not listing the item on Thredup, but selling it elsewhere is dishonest and if it is happening, it should be stopped. However, if something doesn’t sell in the 60-90 day window, it is theirs, so I suppose nothing would prevent them from selling it elsewhere.

3). While I would generally prefer donating to a local charity and supporting my local community, not all clothes donated to local charities benefit that charity or community. Some clothes donated to local charities end up in the landfill. My favorite local charity does not currently recycle clothes; if it can’t use or sell clothes they are literally thrown away. It is not easy for small local places to find ways to get their unusable donations to recyclers. I hope that by sending clothes to Thredup they are more likely to be reworn or recycled, and not burned or put in a landfill.

Tammy

Monday 22nd of March 2021

This article is suuuuuper helpful! We just moved and I’ve been wanting to downsize my clothing while making some extra cash. I ordered a label about two months ago, but had yet to follow through with getting things together to ship. I was also curious about their subscription boxes, so I ordered one and was honestly horrified at the prices they were trying to charge for use items. I legit could buy these items brand new at the store. I returned every item back but this also made me question what type of payouts they were doing for these items. I googled threadUP payouts and this article came up! I have had great luck with poshmark, but you have to put more effort into selling. After reading this article I will definitely continue with poshmark and pass on ThreadUP! Thank you!

Pam

Tuesday 9th of March 2021

I'm so glad I read these reviews. I wanted to try to make some money selling some of my clothes, handbags and shoes. I got my clean out kit today. Was excited, but it wasn't real clear on how I'd be contacted about when my stuff sold. So I googled it and came across this review and read it. I'm thankful I did! I will not be sending my items to thred UP.

Kimberly Button

Wednesday 10th of March 2021

Thanks, Pam! Glad you were able to read other's experiences.

Jenn

Saturday 6th of March 2021

I sent in a bag of Anthropologie clothes- a lot new with tags. I correct pictures were with my items; ie: there were maternity clothes listed and I e never been pregnant, and my expensive NWT jeans somehow went “missing?” And customer service was non existent. I made pennies on the dollar and they sold the items for more than they were worth. It took them over six months to process my bag, and I will never ever use them again. Also, one of their marketing emails had very foul language & the had to send an apology email out. This company is run poorly and seems dishonest.

Consuelo

Monday 1st of March 2021

I 1000000% agree with the comments here. I used thred-up to clean out my closet and had brand new (tag still on) items and got I think a total of 2 dollars for 2 bags. I think the whole model is kind of sucky. It IS an easy way to get rid of clothes if that's all you're trying to do. But I felt taken advantage of, especially when you see the listing price of the clothes on the website. I understand they have workers and processing to take care of, but I'd rather just donate to my local charity shop where at least I know they're doing good works with the money they make. The whole thing rubbed me the wrong way, which sucks because I think used clothes should see a new life and love thrift shopping. Oh well, I'll stick with poshmark!